January 30, 2016 2:32 pm Published by



The Most Honourable Andrew Holness, Prime Minister of Jamaica.

KingstOOn is implemented by the The Office Of The Prime Minister under the Youth Employment In The Digital and Animation Industries (YEDAI) ProjectThe Government of Jamaica, the World Bank and JAMPRO designed the YEDAI Project to include hosting of events like KingstOOn, with the appropriate framework and support that will make KingstOOn not just and event, but an important contribution to the development of the animation industry in Jamaica and the Region. The festival reflects the commitment by the Government of Jamaica, World Bank and JAMPRO to stimulate the growth of the local animation industry and to establish Jamaica as the animation hub of the Caribbean.


World Bank

Dr. Fabio Pittaluga (Snr. Social Development Specialist, World Bank ) and Galina Sotirova (Country Manager to Jamaica) at KingstOOn 2016

KingstOOn is funded through a loan from the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), commonly knows as World Bank, to support youth employment in the digital and animation industries, in an effort to speed up economic growth, increase shared prosperity, alleviate poverty and reduce brain drain. World Bank remains Jamaica’s longstanding partner with the new financing aimed at boosting competitiveness and enhancing fiscal sustainability.

Nandi Hilton (animation student), Diane Edwards (President of JAMPRO), Carlos Arguello (CA Foundation), and the Hon. Andrew Wheatley (Minister of Science, Energy and Technology).

The Jamaica Promotions Corporation (JAMPRO) has partnered with Office Of The Prime Minister, and the World Bank to further develop Jamaica’s animation industry for investment and export opportunities through the Youth Employment in the Digital and Animation Industries (YEDAI) programme. JAMPRO sees the YEDAI Project and KingstOOn programmes as key to ensuring that Jamaica can take advantage of outsourcing opportunities in animation, as well as develop the local ecosystem to create indigenous content.